The Value of Enablement

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Allison Sword Allison Sword 9 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Steve Myers
    Steve Myers
    Participant

I have often been asked to place a value on the role of enablement to the sales organization. People get frustrated when I ask them which of the sales enablement roles they are asking about?

Are we talking about the training role? Even organizations without a formalized sales enablement role conduct training of their reps. As a product developer and later as a sales engineer I tought sales reps about our products, how/why they were used, their value to a customer….. so THAT is going to occur whether sales enablement exists or not.

Are we talking about formalized on-boarding? I’ve started several different on-boarding programs over the years and we’ve established various criteria to measure performance – time-to-1st sale, time-to-quota attainment, employee retention, etc. Just being trained doesn’t allow a new rep to necessarily meet those metrics, they need to be able to place their training in context and be able to use it with the prospect. I’ve attended dozens of new-hire training programs that taught me everything I needed to know, but failed to place it in usable context – with decades of experience it still takes a while to place a lot of those sessions into usable context that allows a rep to operate independently. Instead of 40 hours of Death by PowerPoint, what if we only put them to sleep in 3 days by concentrating on the things they will actually be doing in their 1st weeks on the job?